The Queen's delight

Ballads, country-dances and English grounds of the 17th Century


Excerpted from The English Dancing Master, a voluminous collection published by John Playford in 1651, this “Queen’s Delight” brings together the lush and flavourful music of England and the vocal and instrumental repertoires it inspired in 17th– and 18th-century Europe. In this wide range of pieces stemming from numerous influences (often Scottish and sometimes continental), the rhythmic energy (occasionally in the form of a ground bass) culminates in the grounds, jigs, country-dances, and other types of dance music that were hugely popular at the time.

Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien highlight the melodic aspect of these dances, which were often transformed into airs to be sung. The warm voices of mezzo-soprano Fiona McGown and baritone Enea Sorini are enhanced by colourful instrument groupings.

7 artists
Fiona MacGown, mezzo soprano
Enea Sorini, baritone / dulcimer / drums
François Lazarevitch, flutes / small-pipes / direction
violin, viola da gamba, Baroque harp, archiluth / cittern

Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien




Discover our other programs

all programs